My Dad pastored for 40 years. He kept detailed notes, something I don’t do. He passed away October 26th, 2005. I have every sermon he ever preached. I was reading one today, and I thought that I’d take the next few posts to share this sermon with everyone who views. Here it is.

THE SUBTLENESS OF SATAN
2 Corinthians 11:2-3 NIV

2 Corinthians 11:2-3 NIV – (2) I am jealous for you with a godly jealousy. I promised you to one husband, to Christ, so that I might present you as a pure virgin to Him. (3) But I am afraid that just as Eve was deceived by the serpent’s cunning, your minds may somehow be led astray from your sincere and pure devotion to Christ.
Notice in verse 3 of my text from the NIV. To me it is obvious that the Apostle Paul was concerned about the possibility that Satan, through his craftiness and cunningness, might lead some within the church astray.

Now the word, “subtleness,” simply means, “clever, crafty, sly, and devious.” It means, “to operate in a hidden injurious way.” This is a pretty good description of the way that Satan operates. He is a very deceptive, sly, cunning being, who is out to injure and destroy God’s people.

According to Scripture, “The serpent was more subtle than any beast of the field.” This perhaps, is the reason Satan used the serpent to manifest himself through when he tempted Eve in the Garden of Eden. For the serpent fit his own nature. It is very evident within the Scripture that he can deceive. This is seen in the fact that he was able through his subtlety to deceive a third part of the angels and convince them to invade the throne of God with him.

What Satan does he does on the sly because he is intelligent enough to know that he cannot attack and destroy God’s people with a straight attack. He is no match against the armor that the Lord provides for His children. He knows that the weapons God’s people have available to them are mighty through God. He knows the helmet of salvation; the breastpiece of righteousness; the shield of faith; and the sword of the Spirit are more than ample to defeat him in a frontal attack. So he devises other ways to attack God’s people. He attacks secretly, using divisive means to break through the armor and weapons that are available to God’s people.

One of the most successful things that Satan has used in working havoc in the lives of Christians is by using people against people, or should I say, Christians against Christians. It is a sad thing that we are our worst enemies. In fact, Jesus said in Matthew 10:35, “A man’s enemies will be the members of his own household.” Now I realize that when Jesus said these words, that He was talking about natural members of one’s immediate family. However, I do believe that there are times when the same is true in one’s extended spiritual family. Of course when I say this I’m talking about one’s church family.

To be continued…….

