I’ve put in this blog of mine some of my Dad’s sermons. There is one he preached that is often his most requested. Now while I can’t find the taped version of it. I have found his written sermon to it. Not only that, I found 3 versions of the sermon. So I’m going to put the 3 versions on this blog. Here is version 1.

BREADCORN IS BRUISED VERSION 1
ISAIAH 28:27-29.

Isaiah 28:27-29 (KJV) – 27For the fitches are not threshed with a threshing instrument, neither is a cart wheel turned about upon the cummin; but the fitches are beaten out with a staff, and the cummin with a rod. 28Bread corn is bruised; because he will not ever be threshing it, nor break it with the wheel of his cart, nor bruise it with his horsemen. 29This also cometh forth from the LORD of hosts, which is wonderful in counsel, and excellent in working.


INTRO: I think all of us would have to agree this morning that the Christian life is one of adversity. If anyone enters the Christian experience with the idea that living for Christ is easy they are in for a sad awakening. For my Bible declares, “Many are the afflictions of the righteous.” But let me ask you this morning, “Why does the Christian life have to be filled with adversity?” The common answer to that question is, “So that our faith can be tested in order that it can be strengthened, and also so that patience might be developed in us.” And this is true.
According to Scripture this is part of the reason why the Christian life is one of adversity. But brethren I believe that there is a higher purpose than what has been mentioned so far.
I remember a number of years ago my faith was being tested, and yes sometimes, I was feeling sorry for myself. I was asking, “Lord, why me? Why do I have to face these things?” And as I was studying the Scripture during this time of testing God suddenly gave me some insight as to why God’s people are almost constantly having their faith tried. He drew my attention to four words which I found had deep meaning. These four words were, “Breadcorn is bruised.” Which is the subject I want to preach to you about this morning.
What is the meaning of the term, “Breadcorn is bruised?”
In the natural I think this term is quickly understood. Before bread can be made, these corns, or seeds of wheat must be bruised, or ground to a powder, which we call flour. I recall that this is how my Mother made bread.
But God here, I do not believe is interested in giving us a recipe for natural bread. This is a recipe for spiritual bread that God is giving through Isaiah. As bread in the natural is for natural nourishment, so God intends for you and I to be a source of spiritual nourishment to those that hunger.
But how can we properly become that source of nourishment? The answer is, “you cannot unless first you are bruised.”
Jesus said, “I am the true bread that cometh down from heaven.” In the Scripture He is also referred to as the bread of life. But let me ask you, “How did Jesus become that bread of life?” Was He the bread of life simply because He was the Son of God? No, I don’t think so.
I believe He became the bread of life because of His bruising. That is the reason the Bible declares, “We have not a High Priest which cannot be touched by the feelings of our infirmities.” Because He was bruised He understands when we suffer, and is touched with the feelings of our infirmities. He knows how to minister to us, and becomes a source of spiritual bread for us.
Let’s look at the ways He was bruised.

1. He was tempted in the wilderness.
2. Isaiah 53 gives us deeper insight into His bruising.
a. He was a tender plant – He was hurt because of our sin. The Bible says, “He who knew no sin, became sin for us.”
b. He was despised and rejected.
c. He was a man of sorrows, acquainted with grief.
d. He was stricken for our diseases. Matthew 8:17 – Himself took our infirmities and bore our sicknesses.
e. He was smitten of God – Our chastisement.

You may ask, “What does the bruising of Christ have to do with our adversities?”


We are being bruised so that we might be food for others. We are to identify with others infirmities.
Are you being bruised this morning? If you can say yes, realize it is for the glory of God. He wants to make you into spiritual bread that can nourish those who are hurting and being bruised. Allow the Lord to complete His work so that you can become that bread to someone who needs nourishment.
