This is the third version of the sermon, “Bread corn is bruised,” Preached by my Dad, Jerry Trammell. I think this message was probably delivered at some Pastor’s meeting, the way it seems to be written and delivered. So to all you fellow Pastors out there, may you find encouragement.

Bread corn is bruised

Isaiah 28:27-29 KJV – 27 For the fitches are not threshed with a threshing instrument, neither is a cart wheel turned about upon the cummin; but the fitches are beaten out with a staff, and the cummin with a rod. 28 Bread corn is bruised; because he will not ever be threshing it, nor break it with the wheel of his cart, nor bruise it with his horsemen. 29 This also cometh forth from the LORD of hosts, which is wonderful in counsel, and excellent in working.

INTRO: I do not suppose that there is another profession, or calling that has as many ups and downs as the ministry. I heard it said one time that a minister needs to have the cunning of a serpent, and the gentleness of a dove, and the hide of an rhinoceros. I think that to a large extent that simple statement has a great deal of truth in it.

As ministers of the Gospel we are more susceptible to injury than most people. Not the type of injury that leaves physical marks, but the type of injury that cuts much deeper than that. It is the type of injury that leaves it’s mark and bruise upon our very soul and spirit.

About 18 years ago I began pastoring my first church. I had not prepared myself for the fact that Christian people can sometimes act in unchristian ways. I remember I did everything in my power to please the congregation that I pastored, which was my first mistake. When it came to election time they rewarded me for my effort by trying to vote me out. I lost the votes of everyone of my deacons and their wives plus a few others. I barely got back into office by a mere margin of 55 to 60 % of the vote. Needless to say, my wife and I were devastated and bewildered. For we had tried so hard, but were rewarded by being hurt and bruised. I remember, in the privacy of my study, in prayer, asking God, “Why Lord had this happened, why after we’ve tried so hard have people turned against us and desire us to leave.” It was there that Jesus opened up my understanding of Isaiah 28:28 where the prophet said, “Bread corn is bruised.”

As Ministers of the Gospel we could not be as effective as we are if it weren’t for the fact that we are bruised from time to time.

When Isaiah said – the fitches are beaten out with a staff, and the cummin with a rod, he was revealing the process used in that day of crushing the corns of wheat and making flour out of it, so that from the flour bread could be baked.

But it wasn’t just natural bread that he was giving us the recipe for. But bread corn is bruised has spiritual applications. I believe that you and I are the bread corn that Isaiah was talking about. It is as we are being bruised that we are made able ministers of the Gospel. I am a better minister today because of some of the things I have gone through in the past. Because I have been bruised I can speak with a greater authority when I preach. For no longer do I preach head knowledge but there is a knowledge brought about by experience.

Preacher, because you and I experienced some bruisings, we can minister to the hurts of our people with greater understanding, feeling, and compassion than we ordinarily could.

No wonder the bible says – all things work for the good of them that love the Lord. But that is only a partial quotation of that Scripture. I think we leave off the best part sometimes.
Romans 8:28 – And we know that all things work together for good to them that love God, to them who are the called according to his purpose. What was Paul saying here? I believe he was saying, “To those of us who are called of God, everything that happens to us happens for our good.” Now I didn’t say that everything that happens to us is good. Those people that tried to vote us out, and then quite paying tithes afterwards did not mean it for my good! They meant to hurt us and get rid of us, but God worked it out for our good. For I was a better minister in Waurika Oklahoma Assembly of God than I was at my first church (for the sake of being on the internet here, I left this church un-named “Darrin”). I became a more able minister because I had been bruised so that I could be made into bread for others.

Jesus is an example of the bruising and bread corn that is made into bread.


John 6:48 –
I am that bread of life. Let me ask you, “Did Jesus become the bread of life because He was the Son of God? Or did He become the bread of life because of His bruising?” I believe it is the latter. Jesus said in John 6:51 – I am the living bread which came down from heaven: if any man eat of this bread, he shall live for ever: and the bread that I will give is my flesh, which I will give for the life of the world. Because of the bruising of His flesh He became the living bread given to the world. This is the reason Jesus is the High Priest that can be touched with the feeling of our infirmities. Isn’t it marvelous that we have a High Priest who can identify with our hurts and pains. We have a Savior who understands when we are tempted and tried, because He has gone through the same things. He has been bruised. He was tempted in all points as we are, yet without sin. But the temptation wasn’t the only way Jesus was bruised.

Isaiah 53 paints a morbid picture of the sufferings of Christ – He was wounded for our trangressions and bruised for our iniquities.

Notice with me how that Jesus know how to minister to us during times of grief and sorrow. Because according to Isaiah 53:3 – He was a man of sorrows, and acquainted with grief. Because of His bruising, He identifies with our sicknesses, and knows how to properly minister to us when we suffer pain brought on by sickness. Isaiah 53:5 – With His stripes we are healed. we all know that His stripes is the price for our healing. But what you may not realize is that they beating itself and the shock of that beating to His body may very well have left His body with symptoms one feels when He is seriously ill. Thereby the stripes became not on the price for our healing, but it could have served to bruise Him so as to help Him identify with our suffering when we are sick.

Conclusion

Jesus became the bread of life because He was the bread corn that was bruised. Likewise Minister of God, that is why you are bruised from time to time.

