The other day someone responded to a sermon that I had written in my blog back in march. Now I do not know this person, they claimed to be a 15 year old girl from somewhere up north.

For obvious reasons, like accountability reasons as well as others, I did not respond to the response. Meaning, I didn’t respond by email, plus I showed the response to my wife.

This person did leave some pretty valid points though. They said that it was great that I had peace in this life because I knew my calling and stuff, but they didn’t. It feels like their world is falling apart and all is hopeless.

There are truly a number of teenagers and young adults who do honestly feel that way, and unfortunately, some of them take their lives tragically through suicide, or drug and alcohol abuse.

Is there an answer. Yes, I think there is. And I think God put the answer right in front of our noses, meaning it is in the Bible.

Psalm 119:9 TNIV – How can those who are young keep their way pure? By living according to your word.

It is not only reading the Word, but understanding and applying the Word that we are able to keep our ways pure.

What does it mean to be pure in this way?

1. We are honest with ourselves that we are all sinners and hopeless if we try to live this life in our own strength.

Contrary to what this person wrote, I don’t have it all together. There are many times that I do question my calling, my relationships, by abilities, and the list could go on and on.

Yet during those times, I must not only believe what the Word says, but I must also be obedient and put it into practice whether I feel like it or not.

2. We also must be honest with ourselves about who God is.

Is is the Almighty. He is the Sovereign. He is in control even when our world seems to be spinning out of control. He is our very strength. And it is the joy He gives, not what we can falsely conjure up, that becomes our strength.

3. We must become people with a thankful heart.

If we would just change our focus for a bit. Instead of focusing on our problems and the fact that we seemingly are lost in this hopeless world, we need to start focusing on the blessings of God.

If we truly did this, we would see that the blessings outweigh the problems.

You say that this isn’t true. Well, are you breathing, then thank the Lord for every breath you breath. Is your heart beating? Then thank the Lord for every heart beat. Is there a roof over your head? Then thank the Lord for shelter. Have you eaten? Then thank the Lord for food.

I could go on and on, but I will stop here.

We are to be pure in this filthy world, and not just on the outside, but in our hearts and minds as well.

Don’t let circumstances dictate your attitude. Read and Study the Bible. Become obedient to it and apply it.

That is the answer to keeping pure in a filthy world.

