This is the Sunday night series for Sunday, September 7th, 2008.

LIDS PART 3

In this series on entitled, “lids,” we are comparing both Saul and David and the lids they had in their lives and how they reacted.

I’m human. I have emotions, and I have strengths and I have weaknesses. And like all humans, I also have lids that have developed over time in my life that can be a hindrance. Am I just supposed to accept my weaknesses and the lids that cover up potential? Is there anything that I can do about them? Well yes, there are some lids that I have the power to lift myself. Let me give you one example. Whether you believe it or not, I’m really an introvert. I do not like to get up and public speak. It is bothersome to me. You see, growing up in school, I’d take a bad grade on book reports and poems that we had to recite because I could not stand to get in front of the class and speak.

Now you may say, “Well, you are over that now, after preaching so many times.” Well, that is not true. Right before I come out of my office to preach, I’m a ball of nerves. Walking up to the stage on Sunday mornings, or anytime to speak in public for that matter is very bothersome to me. Sometimes I want to hide in my office and never come out. But you see, every Sunday and other times, with the Lord’s help, I come out and endeavor to deliver His Word and try to be friendly. Why? Because I’ve decided long ago with the Lord’s help, I would not let the lids in my life dictate who I am. So every Sunday, I depend on Him to anoint me and help me lift the lids of insecurity to share His Word.

We need to understand this evening, that like me, there are lids in all our lives that will try to hinder our potential in Christ. In identifying those lids, we must ask for the Lord to help lift them, and not allow our lids hinder us in anyway.

As fellow believers in Jesus, God expects us to lift the lids that would try to hinder us to release the potential He has placed in us.

Tonight, we are going to look at three lids that David lifted and didn’t allow to hinder him. But before we do, let’s ask the Holy Spirit to bless our time together in His Word.

1. David lifted his own lid.

1 Samuel 17:38-40 ESV – 38 Then Saul clothed David with his armor. He put a helmet of bronze on his head and clothed him with a coat of mail, 39 and David strapped his sword over his armor. And he tried in vain to go, for he had not tested them. Then David said to Saul, “I cannot go with these, for I have not tested them.” So David put them off. 40 Then he took his staff in his hand and chose five smooth stones from the brook and put them in his shepherd’s pouch. His sling was in his hand, and he approached the Philistine.

A. Here we see Saul clothe David in his own royal armor.

The problem was, this armor was not made for David: it was made for Saul. David was much too small for the armor, so it was too bulky for him to face Goliath with.

B. David did not let his size hinder him.

What David lacked in size he made up for in heart. You see, David had a heart for God. He was not going to allow this giant to blaspheme God. David lifted the lid of what limited him, his stature. He also found something that he could fight the giant with, five smooth stones and a sling. You see, David did not know how to fight with armor, but he knew how to use a sling.

C. What can we learn from David here?

Don’t try to use other people’s armor. God hasn’t called you and I to mimic other leaders and try to be other people. He has called us to be us, limitations and all. God promises to equip you for the task. David was equipped with the ability to use a stone and a sling. God has equipped all of us with spiritual gifts, talents and abilities. We must use them for His glory. As you step out to be who God calls you to be, the lid that hinders the potential will begin to lift. This is a step of faith. God often will start moving when we take that first step.

D. Let’s look at another lid that David lifted.

2. David’s example of lifting his lid helped others lift their lids.

1 Samuel 17:50-53 ESV – 50 So David prevailed over the Philistine with a sling and with a stone, and struck the Philistine and killed him. There was no sword in the hand of David. 51 Then David ran and stood over the Philistine and took his sword and drew it out of its sheath and killed him and cut off his head with it. When the Philistines saw that their champion was dead, they fled. 52 And the men of Israel and Judah rose with a shout and pursued the Philistines as far as Gath and the gates of Ekron, so that the wounded Philistines fell on the way from Shaaraim as far as Gath and Ekron. 53 And the people of Israel came back from chasing the Philistines, and they plundered their camp.

A. When David defeated the giant, the army of Israel saw it.

They saw that David did not allow his age, size and his lack of armor to stop him from facing this fearsome foe. You see, David became a living example to Israel’s army of not allowing apparent lids to hinder.

B. The army of Israel followed David’s example.

No longer were they fearful, that lid had been lifted by David. They began to charge and chase after the Philistine army, and they plundered their camp.

C. What are some lessons that we can learn?

Well, whether we like it or not, as believers, we are to be examples that other believers can follow. Notice what Paul says.

Philippians 3:17 ESV – Brothers, join in imitating me, and keep your eyes on those who walk according to the example you have in us.

We should endeavor to live our lives in Christ in such away that other believers can follow our way of life. So when we begin lifting those lids that could potentially hinder us, other believers can see the hand of God in this and thereby begin lifting their own lids as well.

3. God’s favor was exposed in lifting the lids.

1 Samuel 18:6-7 ESV – 6 As they were coming home, when David returned from striking down the Philistine, the women came out of all the cities of Israel, singing and dancing, to meet King Saul, with tambourines, with songs of joy, and with musical instruments. 7 And the women sang to one another as they celebrated, “Saul has struck down his thousands, and David his ten thousands.”

A. The entire nation heard of what happened, and they began to sing of David’s exploits.

B. What can we learn from this?

Ultimately, we should rejoice when we see lids lifted in people’s lives. The rejoicing should not be in our ability to lift the lids, but in God’s goodness and grace and power that helps us lift those lids.

It is easy to deny that we have lids, but that won’t accomplish anything. We need to understand, that God has called us and gifted us in spite of our lids. He expects us to begin lifting them with His help. Ask the Lord to search your heart so that He might expose those lids that hinder and then you take a step of faith and remove them.

God expects Faith United Church to be a church that grows in Him. Let’s be that church, that God can use to touch one another as well as those in our community that desperately need Christ.

