Okay, maybe I need to just chill-out and not post until I’ve had time to think things through, but right now, I just don’t want to do that.  I’ve got a bad headache, and am going to have to quick studying and reading  (including online) to let my mind and eyes rest, but what I read today made me mad!

I’m a fan of the TNIV.  I like several translations, and I’ve switched back and forth many times, but after initially not trusting the TNIV, I’ve studied it out and discovered it is a very good translation, in my opinion the best on the market.

Many ministers and scholars that I admire don’t like it and have even attacked it.  No problem.   They have their opinion; I have mine.  I can’t help if their opinion is wrong 🙂 !

Well, there is news today that the people that produced the NIV family of Bibles (NIV, TNIV, NIRV) are producing a new NIV for 2011.  When it comes out, they will discontinue the TNIV (I wonder what they will do with the NIRV???)

Here is a quote that is made from the article in USA Today:

The T-NIV is very divisive. It’s not a unifying translation. And it was poorly handled in the marketplace. We need to undo the damage,” says Maureen (Moe ) Girkins, president of Zondervan.

The T-NIV will be taken off the market when the new Bible is released.

For the 2011 edition, more than a dozen scholars will “review every single gender-related decision we have made and make sure we are putting God’s unchanging word into English people are actually using,” says Douglas Moo, chairman of the Committee on Bible Translation.

Gender issues aren’t the only areas for re-examination, says Moo. “In the 1984 NIV when Paul says (in 2 Corinthians 11:25) ‘I was stoned,’ we changed it to ‘pelted with stones’ to avoid the laughter in the junior high row of the church.”

While the committee has always called on scholars from numerous faiths and disciplines, they’re also now calling for input from the general public at a special new website, NIVBible2011.com.

“I can’t predict what will happen with gender usage. My guess would be we made a lot of the right decisions for the T-NIV but every one of those is open for consideration. We may even be returning to what we had in the 1984 NIV,” says Moo.

I’m not sure what I will do yet:  go back to the ESV, or NLT, NET, or just stay with the TNIV and wait till the 2011 NIV comes out.

I’m sure I will settle down once I sleep on it.  I just like reading something not as wooden as the ESV but not at liberal in its translation as the NLT.  I’d go with the NET, but it also has a problem with circulation.

decisions, decisions, decisions.

