This morning I was doing my morning devotions.  I’m currently reading through the Bible chronologically, and I’ve been really enjoying using this method.

Today’s reading was from Daniel 10-12.  I was reading it in the NET (New English Translation).  As I was reading through chapter 10, something really lept out at me:

Daniel 10:11 NET – He said to me, “Daniel, you are of great value.  Understand the words that I am about to speak to you.  So stand up, for I have now been sent to you.”

The phrase, “You are of great value,” really got me thinking.

What makes me valuable to God?

  • Could it be because I’m a preacher? —No–
  • Is it because I can play several musical instruments?  –No–
  • Is it because I have a wondeful, faithful Christian wife and two Children who love the Lord?  –No–
  • Is it because I preach the gospel, and endeavor to be truthful as I can in my interpretation –No–
  • Am I valuable because my Dad and Mom were both godly people who trained me in a godly way? –No–

So what makes me valuable?  Good question.  Really, I don’t have much of value to offer God.  I’m an earthen vessel, who doesn’t hold much treasure, but honestly a lot of dung!!!

I like what the Apostle Paul says in 2 Corinthians 4.

2 Corinthians 4:5-7 (ESV) – we proclaim not ourselves, but Jesus Christ as Lord, with ourselves as your servants for Jesus’ sake. 6 For God, who said, “Let light shine out of darkness,” has shone in our hearts to give the light of the knowledge of the glory of God in the face of Jesus Christ. 7 But we have this treasure in jars of clay, to show that the surpassing power belongs to God and not to us.

You see, what makes me valuable to God, is not me, my talents, and my knowledge – it’s my Savior – Jesus Christ!!!!

One of my favorite passages is this one:

2 Corinthians 5:21 (ESV) – For our sake he made him to be sin who knew no sin, so that in him we might become the righteousness of God.

All I can say is:  Amen, Paul!!!

I want close this post by quoting the song, “Nothing but the blood,” by Matt Redman.  It best speaks my heart this today.

Your blood speaks a better word

than all the empty claims

I’ve heard upon this earth

speaks righteousness to me

and stands in my defense

Jesus its your blood

Your cross testifies in grace

Tells of the Father’s heart

To make a way for us

now boldly we approach

no earthly confidence

its only by your blood

What can wash away our sins

what can make us whole again

Nothing but the blood

Nothing but the blood of Jesus

What can wash us pure as snow

welcomed as the friends of God

Nothing but your blood

Nothing but your blood, King Jesus

(Matt Redman; Copyright 2004 Thankyou music; Admin. by EMI Christian music publishing)

