This is the sermon for Wednesday October 19th, 2009.

John part 64

The Holy Spirit: The Disciple’s Helper.

John 14:16-26.

John 14:16-26 ESV – 16And I will ask the Father, and he will give you another Helper, to be with you forever, 17even the Spirit of truth, whom the world cannot receive, because it neither sees him nor knows him. You know him, for he dwells with you and will be in you.  18“I will not leave you as orphans; I will come to you. 19 Yet a little while and the world will see me no more, but you will see me. Because I live, you also will live. 20 In that day you will know that I am in my Father, and you in me, and I in you. 21 Whoever has my commandments and keeps them, he it is who loves me. And he who loves me will be loved by my Father, and I will love him and manifest myself to him.” 22 Judas (not Iscariot) said to him, “Lord, how is it that you will manifest yourself to us, and not to the world?” 23Jesus answered him, “If anyone loves me, he will keep my word, and my Father will love him, and we will come to him and make our home with him. 24Whoever does not love me does not keep my words. And the word that you hear is not mine but the Father’s who sent me. 25“These things I have spoken to you while I am still with you. 26But the Helper, the Holy Spirit, whom the Father will send in my name, he will teach you all things and bring to your remembrance all that I have said to you.

INTRODUCTION

Now this sermon and the last one we’ve preached on pretty much used the same verses.  Last time we concentrated on the proof of a disciple’s love for Christ.  Now we are going to focus on the disciple’s helper:  The Holy Spirit.  Now when I say the word, “disciples”, I’m not just referring to the original Eleven alone, but all the followers of Christ throughout history; including us.

Now remember, Christ does not have a long time before His betrayal, trial, torture, and death.  He is trying to comfort the Eleven; while at the same time speaking truth to them.  He truly is, “speaking the truth in love.”

Let’s begin looking into what Jesus has to say concerning the person and work of the Holy Spirit from our passage.

The Holy Spirit is the disciple’s helper.

John 14:16 ESV – And I will ask the Father, and he will give you another Helper, to be with you forever…

Jesus had given the Eleven some very discouraging news earlier; now He gives them some comforting news:  On their behalf – He is going to ask the Father to give them the Holy Spirit as their helper.

Word Study:

  • Ask – Greek is eratao (er-o-tah`o).
  • It means, “to interrogate, to request, to ask, beseech, desire, entreat, pray.
  • In Greek grammar “I will ask” is FUTURE ACTIVE INDICATIVE.
  • FUTURE – He hasn’t asked yet, but will at some future time.
  • ACTIVE – Jesus will be the one doing the asking.
  • INDICATIVE – This is a statement of fact or truth.  The disciples can rely on the fact that Jesus will do this.

Now when did Jesus do this asking?  Well, I think we can see it in John 17; but it is probably referring to after His resurrection and ascension back to the Father; when He stands at the right hand of the Father as our great high Priest.

Romans 8:34 ESV – Who is to condemn? Christ Jesus is the one who died—more than that, who was raised— who is at the right hand of God, who indeed is interceding for us.

Hebrews 4:14-15 ESV – 14Since then we have a great high priest who has passed through the heavens, Jesus, the Son of God, let us hold fast our confession. 15For we do not have a high priest who is unable to sympathize with our weaknesses, but one who in every respect has been tempted as we are, yet without sin.

Hebrews 7:25 ESV – Consequently, he is able to save to the uttermost those who draw near to God through him, since he always lives to make intercession for them.

Jesus says He will ask the Father to give them another helper to be with them forever.

What does Jesus mean by “another helper”?

  • Greek – parakletos (par-ak`-lay-tos).
  • Means, “an intercessor, advocate, comforter.”
  • One called alongside to help in a legal sense.

This giving of the Holy Spirit to the disciples of Christ is not just so He can come and go whenever we need Him; but He abides in us and with us forever.

The Holy Spirit is described as the Spirit of Truth that only the disciples of Christ will know.

John 14:17 ESV – even the Spirit of truth, whom the world cannot receive, because it neither sees him nor knows him. You know him, for he dwells with you and will be in you.

He is called the Spirit of Truth because He reveals the truth to us about God.  You see, the Bible is not just a good devotional book; neither is it just a roadmap or guide for us to live by.  It is God’s revelation of Himself to us.  Only those that have been washed and saved by Christ through the Father’s drawing can receive the truth of the revelation of God.

The world cannot, apart from the drawing of the Father, receive this revelation.

Through the Holy Spirit is the revelation of the ever-abiding Christ with His disciples.

John 14:18-21 ESV – 18“I will not leave you as orphans; I will come to you. 19 Yet a little while and the world will see me no more, but you will see me. Because I live, you also will live. 20 In that day you will know that I am in my Father, and you in me, and I in you. 21 Whoever has my commandments and keeps them, he it is who loves me. And he who loves me will be loved by my Father, and I will love him and manifest myself to him.”

Breaking the passage down:

  • Jesus won’t leave them as orphans. This is a comforting statement.  This shows Jesus’ fatherly care for the Eleven (verse 18).
  • He will come to them. He will come to them through the person and work of the Holy Spirit (verse 18).
  • After His death and resurrection He will again appear to the Eleven.  Then they will know and understand the truth about Christ (verses 19-20).
  • Those who obey Christ, will be loved by both He and the Father; Christ will manifest Himself to them (verse 21). He will be manifested through the coming and indwelling of the Holy Spirit in the disciples.

The Holy Spirit manifests Christ to His disciples and not the world because the disciples keep His Word.

John 14:22-24 ESV – 22 Judas (not Iscariot) said to him, “Lord, how is it that you will manifest yourself to us, and not to the world?” 23Jesus answered him, “If anyone loves me, he will keep my word, and my Father will love him, and we will come to him and make our home with him. 24Whoever does not love me does not keep my words. And the word that you hear is not mine but the Father’s who sent me.

What does it mean to “keep His word”?

  • Greek word is tereo (tay-reh`-o).
  • The Tense, Voice, Mood is a PRESENT ACTIVE PARTICIPLE.
  • Tense: PRESENT – Occuring in present time.  Presently keeping.
  • Voice:  ACTIVE – The doer is performing the action.  In this case, the doer is the disciple.
  • Definition for keep:  to watch or guard; to protect; to obey.

So a disciple is one who makes it their life’s pursuit to study the word and keep and obey it.  The Father and Son loves this type of person and indwells them.

One thing we must consider:  this type of obedience mentioned here is not a work of the flesh, but a work of the Spirit that begins when we are born again.

The Holy Spirit is the disciple’s teacher.

John 14:25-26 ESV – 25“These things I have spoken to you while I am still with you. 26But the Helper, the Holy Spirit, whom the Father will send in my name, he will teach you all things and bring to your remembrance all that I have said to you.

What Jesus spoke to His disciples, the Holy Spirit will bring to their remembrance.

CONCLUSION

Application:

  • In our daily walk – the Holy Spirit is our constant helper.
  • He reveals the truth of God the Father and the Son Jesus Christ to us through His word.
  • Through the Holy Spirit Christ always abides with us.

Through the help of the Holy Spirit, we are ever becoming obedient to His word.

