This is the sermon for Wednesday January 20th 2010.

John part 73

Virtue

John 16:25-33.

John 16:25-33 ESV – 25“I have said these things to you in figures of speech. The hour is coming when I will no longer speak to you in figures of speech but will tell you plainly about the Father. 26In that day you will ask in my name, and I do not say to you that I will ask the Father on your behalf; 27 for the Father himself loves you, because you have loved me and have believed that I came from God. 28 I came from the Father and have come into the world, and now I am leaving the world and going to the Father.” 29His disciples said, “Ah, now you are speaking plainly and not using figurative speech! 30Now we know that you know all things and do not need anyone to question you; this is why we believe that you came from God.” 31Jesus answered them, “Do you now believe? 32Behold, the hour is coming, indeed it has come, when you will be scattered, each to his own home, and will leave me alone. Yet I am not alone, for the Father is with me. 33I have said these things to you, that in me you may have peace. In the world you will have tribulation. But take heart; I have overcome the world.”

INTRODUCTION

As Jesus and the Eleven are headed toward the Garden, many things have been taught by Jesus; some good, some disturbing.  But He has spoken the truth to them to keep them from falling so that what is about to come upon would not catch them off guard.  You see Jesus told them these for three reasons: (1) He loved them; (2) He believed that they would not fall away; (3) He wanted to give hope beyond what they soon would be facing.

These are the very Christian virtues that Paul discusses.

1 Corinthians 13:13 ESV – So now faith, hope, and love abide, these three; but the greatest of these is love.

So tonight we are going to segment our text in John according to these three virtues: Love, Faith, and Hope.  Let’s begin.

Love.

John 16:25-27 ESV – 25“I have said these things to you in figures of speech. The hour is coming when I will no longer speak to you in figures of speech but will tell you plainly about the Father. 26In that day you will ask in my name, and I do not say to you that I will ask the Father on your behalf; 27 for the Father himself loves you, because you have loved me and have believed that I came from God.

Jesus had spent His entire 3 year ministry speaking a lot in figures of speech, parables, and metaphors.  He has done this for 2 reasons:

  • To reveal truth through illustrations to His true followers.
  • To conceal truth from the false followers, and Pharisees.

However, even the true followers had difficulty understanding the meaning; especially when it came to the metaphors concerning His death, and resurrection.

Jesus speaks of a time that He will no longer speak to them in figures of speech but plainly.  When is this time?  After His resurrection and ascension, the Holy Spirit would be given to all true believers and the Holy Spirit would make plain the teachings of Jesus.

John 16:13-15 ESV – 13When the Spirit of truth comes, he will guide you into all the truth, for he will not speak on his own authority, but whatever he hears he will speak, and he will declare to you the things that are to come. 14He will glorify me, for he will take what is mine and declare it to you. 15 All that the Father has is mine; therefore I said that he will take what is mine and declare it to you.

Jesus also speaks that during this time they will be able to approach the Father in His name (verse 26).  What a privilege and honor this is for all disciples of Jesus.  Before Jesus was resurrected and ascended, He spoke to the Father on their behalf; now that the Holy Spirit has been given, they and all His disciples approach God through Jesus Christ.  God hears and is mindful of our sorrows and prayers.  By the way, Jesus still makes intercession for us at the Father’s right hand.

Romans 8:34 ESV – Who is to condemn? Christ Jesus is the one who died—more than that, who was raised— who is at the right hand of God, who indeed is interceding for us.

Hebrews 10:19-22 ESV – 19 Therefore, brothers, since we have confidence to enter the holy places by the blood of Jesus, 20by the new and living way that he opened for us through the curtain, that is, through his flesh, 21and since we have a great priest over the house of God, 22let us draw near with a true heart in full assurance of faith, with our hearts sprinkled clean from an evil conscience and our bodies washed with pure water.

In verse 27 of our text Jesus declares the Father’s love for them.  Think about this for just a moment: The Father loves you with a perfect love! Let’s now move on to our next virtue.

Faith.

John 16:28-32 ESV – 28 I came from the Father and have come into the world, and now I am leaving the world and going to the Father.” 29His disciples said, “Ah, now you are speaking plainly and not using figurative speech! 30Now we know that you know all things and do not need anyone to question you; this is why we believe that you came from God.” 31Jesus answered them, “Do you now believe? 32Behold, the hour is coming, indeed it has come, when you will be scattered, each to his own home, and will leave me alone. Yet I am not alone, for the Father is with me.

In verse 28 Jesus speaks plainly.  He came from the Father and is going back to Him.

In verses 29-30 the Eleven have an aha! moment. Perhaps the Holy Spirit had given them collective insight in one quick moment of time; all of the sayings of Jesus concerning His death, resurrection, and ascension have fallen into place.  They have some semblance of faith here, though I feel it wouldn’t be genuine until after the resurrection.

In verses 31-32 Jesus says, “Do you now believe?” After saying this He reveals they will scatter; which happens when He is arrested.  Jesus has faith though that the Father would not abandon Him during His trying time.

What can we learn here? Well People will abandon us for many different reasons.  But God does not abandon His children: no matter the trial.

Let’s look at the last virtue.

Hope.

John 16:33 ESV – I have said these things to you, that in me you may have peace. In the world you will have tribulation. But take heart; I have overcome the world.

Jesus has said the good and bad to them.  He has done this for 2 reasons.

2 Reasons:

  • So that as they trust Him, they find peace.
  • Not to trust the world; there is only tribulation there.

What is the believer’s hope? Jesus has overcome the world; therefore, in the midst of tribulation there is peace in Him.

CONCLUSION

I hope you have a greater appreciation of the 3 Christian virtues tonight.

Next time we will begin looking into Christ’s High Priestly prayer.

