A little late in getting this up.   This is the sermon for Wednesday, February 10th, 2010.

John part 75

Jesus prayer for the Eleven.

John 17:6-19.

John 17:6-19 ESV – 6 “I have manifested your name to the people whom you gave me out of the world. Yours they were, and you gave them to me, and they have kept your word. 7Now they know that everything that you have given me is from you. 8For I have given them the words that you gave me, and they have received them and have come to know in truth that I came from you; and they have believed that you sent me. 9I am praying for them. I am not praying for the world but for those whom you have given me, for they are yours. 10 All mine are yours, and yours are mine, and I am glorified in them. 11And I am no longer in the world, but they are in the world, and I am coming to you. Holy Father, keep them in your name, which you have given me, that they may be one, even as we are one. 12 While I was with them, I kept them in your name, which you have given me. I have guarded them, and not one of them has been lost except the son of destruction, that the Scripture might be fulfilled. 13But now I am coming to you, and these things I speak in the world, that they may have my joy fulfilled in themselves. 14 I have given them your word, and the world has hated them because they are not of the world, just as I am not of the world. 15I do not ask that you take them out of the world, but that you keep them from the evil one. 16 They are not of the world, just as I am not of the world. 17 Sanctify them in the truth; your word is truth. 18 As you sent me into the world, so I have sent them into the world. 19And for their sake I consecrate myself, that they also may be sanctified in truth.

INTRODUCTION

We are looking at Christ’s high priestly prayer found in John 17:1-26. Jesus and the Eleven are headed toward the Garden.  This prayer is high priestly because Jesus is interceding for three different types of people:

  • Himself (verses 1-5).
  • The Eleven (verses 6-19).
  • Future Disciples (verses 20-26).

Tonight we are looking at Jesus prayer concerning the Eleven.  Let’s begin.

The Eleven were given to Christ by Father God.

John 17:6 ESV – I have manifested your name to the people whom you gave me out of the world. Yours they were, and you gave them to me, and they have kept your word.

Jesus starts this portion of the prayer concerning the Disciples with the fact that He manifested God’s name to them.

Manifested:

  • Greek word phaneroo (fan-er-o`-o).
  • To reveal, to render apparent, to declare.

Name:

  • Greek word onoma (on`-om-ah).
  • Represents reputation and authority by which an act is accomplished.
  • Revelation of God’s name is a revelation of Himself.

So it is more than just God’s literal name, which they knew, but His reputation, authority, and character.  Throughout Jesus ministry, not only the crowds, but to the Eleven He has revealed the character of Father God. 

According to the Life Application Commentary of the Book of John, “Jesus had revealed the reality of the Father’s person to them.”

Let’s look at some examples from John.

John 1:18 ESV – No one has ever seen God; the only God, who is at the Father’s side, he has made him known.

John 10:38 ESV – but if I do them, even though you do not believe me, believe the works, that you may know and understand that the Father is in me and I am in the Father.

John 12:45 ESV – And whoever sees me sees him who sent me.

John 14:9-11 ESV – 9Jesus said to him, “Have I been with you so long, and you still do not know me, Philip? Whoever has seen me has seen the Father. How can you say, ‘Show us the Father’? 10Do you not believe that I am in the Father and the Father is in me? The words that I say to you I do not speak on my own authority, but the Father who dwells in me does his works. 11Believe me that I am in the Father and the Father is in me, or else believe on account of the works themselves.

Next Jesus says the Father gave the Eleven to Him out of the world. This is what is commonly called “the doctrine of Election.”  The Eleven may have freely chosen to follow Jesus, or so they thought, but it was God that actually purposed their following of Jesus.

Jesus also states that they have kept God’s Word. The word “kept” in Greek is not talking about a perfect, blameless obedience, because we’ve seen that throughout John and the other three Gospels this has not been true; it refers to the desire to hear and do all that is revealed.

Jesus has given the Eleven the very words of the Father.

John 17:7-8 ESV – 7Now they know that everything that you have given me is from you. 8For I have given them the words that you gave me, and they have received them and have come to know in truth that I came from you; and they have believed that you sent me.

In the three years that the Eleven have followed Jesus, they have heard every message He gave, both private and public.  These messages, parables, and sayings wasn’t His own, but came directly from the Father.  The Eleven are beginning to see this truth.

Jesus is glorified through the Eleven.

John 17:9-10 ESV – 9I am praying for them. I am not praying for the world but for those whom you have given me, for they are yours. 10 All mine are yours, and yours are mine, and I am glorified in them.

Jesus is not praying some random prayer here; He is praying specifically for the Eleven.  God has given them to Jesus; Jesus has given them the very Word’s of the Father; and He is glorified through God’s purpose of the Eleven.

Like the Eleven, the highest honor that we have as Christians is to give glory to Jesus Christ.  Whatever our lot in life, that is our calling; that is our true ministry.

Jesus prays for preservation.

John 17:11-16 ESV – 11And I am no longer in the world, but they are in the world, and I am coming to you. Holy Father, keep them in your name, which you have given me, that they may be one, even as we are one. 12 While I was with them, I kept them in your name, which you have given me. I have guarded them, and not one of them has been lost except the son of destruction, that the Scripture might be fulfilled. 13But now I am coming to you, and these things I speak in the world, that they may have my joy fulfilled in themselves. 14 I have given them your word, and the world has hated them because they are not of the world, just as I am not of the world. 15I do not ask that you take them out of the world, but that you keep them from the evil one. 16 They are not of the world, just as I am not of the world.

Jesus prays that the Father “keeps” them.  Barnes says Keeps means, “preserve, defend, sustain them in trails, and save them from apostacy.”

While Jesus was on earth He kept the Eleven.  Look at this powerful promise for both the Eleven and us.

John 6:37-40 ESV – 37 All that the Father gives me will come to me, and whoever comes to me I will never cast out. 38For I have come down from heaven, not to do my own will but the will of him who sent me. 39And this is the will of him who sent me, that I should lose nothing of all that he has given me, but raise it up on the last day. 40For this is the will of my Father, that everyone who looks on the Son and believes in him should have eternal life, and I will raise him up on the last day.”

Salvation is assured for both the Eleven and us because God keeps us; He preserves us, sustains us, and protects our souls.  It doesn’t mean we have a right to live any old way we want too; one of the ways He preserves us is that he gives us a heart to love and serve Him.

The son of destruction here in verse 12 was Judas.  He betrayed Jesus, because quite frankly, He didn’t belong to Him.

Jesus is asking that the Father preserve the Eleven, not be taking them out of the world, but to protect  them from the evil one while they are in the world (verse 15). This is a protection that would take the Eleven through difficult circumstances from falling prey to the devil.

In the same way we are protected.  We are protected because we have been sealed with the promised Holy Spirit.

Ephesians 1:13-14 ESV – 13In him you also, when you heard the word of truth, the gospel of your salvation, and believed in him, were sealed with the promised Holy Spirit, 14who is the guarantee of our inheritance until we acquire possession of it, to the praise of his glory.

Jesus prays that God would make the Eleven holy through His Word.

John 17:17-19 ESV – 17 Sanctify them in the truth; your word is truth. 18 As you sent me into the world, so I have sent them into the world. 19And for their sake I consecrate myself, that they also may be sanctified in truth.

Sanctify in Greek means, “to set apart, to make holy.” Only God the Father can do this through the truth of His Word.  Sanctification is not a one time event as some believe, but a lifetime process of walking with the Father through Christ and hearing the Word of Truth – Scripture.  The tense, voice, mood for sanctify is AORIST ACTIVE IMPERATIVE.  This means that our sanctification began at a certain time, and still continues; hence, it is both instantaneous and yet progressive.

In the remainder of the passage we see that the Father sent Jesus, and now Jesus sends the Eleven as His representatives.  We also see Jesus consecrate Himself to going to the cross. Consecrate is the same Greek word for Sanctify in this text.  Jesus sets Himself apart to do the will of the Father for the Elect’s sake.

CONCLUSION

As we conclude, we can see Christ’s love for the Eleven in this prayer.  Next time we will see His love for all future disciples (including us) as He prays for all future disciples.

