I’ve suspended my Sunday morning sermon series, “Practical Christianity for the next two Sundays.  This is the Sunday morning sermon for March 28th 2010.

Burden casting

Psalm 55:22

Psalm 55:22 HCSB – Cast your burden on the LORD, and He will support you; He will never allow the righteous to be shaken.

INTRODUCTION

Today we are going to be dealing with the subject, “Burden casting.”  As we celebrate our church’s anniversary, there is a reality that we all must face:  Many times we are burdened down in life.  In fact, life seems to be about carrying one burden after another…. after another.  Why is that?  Why is it that there seems to be more burden-filled moments instead of burden-less moments?  Many times, we will blame Satan, others, and even ourselves when it comes to the burdens we carry.

Well, this sermon is not about who is to blame for our burdens, but we are going to look at a few verses from Psalm 55 and see how David dealt with burdens found in this Psalm.

But first I want to share one startling truth that will be hard for us to fathom, but it is a biblical truth nonetheless.

Ultimately, the burdens that we endure come from God!

Psalm 55:22a HCSB – Cast your burden on the LORD…

It almost sounds disrespectful for me to say that our burdens come from God – doesn’t it?  How can I say this?  Well, the Hebrew text itself gives us the answer.  Let’s look at the meaning of Burden in Hebrew.

Burden

  • In Hebrew yhab (ye-hawb`).
  • What is given by Providence.
  • Dictionary definition of Providence: “The foreseeing care and guidance of God.”

Having seen this, let’s see how Green’s Literal Version translates this: “Cast on Jehovah what He has given…”

Now before you shut me off, there are a number of examples in the Bible of God giving burdens to people.

Examples:

  • Eve – pain in child birth.
  • Adam – working the ground.
  • Joseph – slavery, libel, imprisonment.
  • Job – complete loss.
  • Moses – an entire nation (Israel).
  • Ruth – loss of husband.
  • Jesus – our sin.
  • Paul – His thorn in the flesh.

There are many more examples, but this I feel this is enough to show us that these burdens were decreed by God.

Now, what is a burden?

Burden:

  • That which is borne with difficulty.

Now why does God decree for us to carry these burdens?  Simply because He loves us!  If we didn’t carry burdens, our hearts would not be turned outward toward Him, but inward toward ourselves.  Burdened Christians are dependent on God…period.

Now what are we to do with these burdens?

We give back to God what He has given to us.

Psalm 55:22a HCSB – Cast your burden on the LORD…

Cast:

  • Hebrew shalak (shaw-lak).
  • To throw down or throw away.

The purpose of the burden is not to carry it, but to throw it back to God in prayer.

Look at what David does in Psalm 55:1-7.

Psalm 55:1-7 HCSB – 1 God, listen to my prayer and do not ignore my plea for help. 2 Pay attention to me and answer me.  I am restless and in turmoil with my complaint, 3 because of the enemy’s voice, because of the pressure of the wicked.  For they bring down disaster on me and harass me in anger. 4 My heart shudders within me; terrors of death sweep over me. 5 Fear and trembling grip me; horror has overwhelmed me.     6 I said, “If only I had wings like a dove! I would fly away and find rest.  7 How far away I would flee; I would stay in the wilderness.

Thoughts from David’s prayer:

  • He asks for God to listen (verses 1-2a).
  • He admits the burden (verses 2b-3).
  • He confesses what the burden is doing to him (verses 4-5).
  • He confesses his desire for release (verses 6-7).

You see, David poured his heart out to God.

Beloved, that is God’s desire for believers.  He allows burdens so that our broken heart is poured out to Him.

What is the end result of throwing your burdens back to God?

The sustaining power of the Lord.

Psalm 55:22b HCSB – He will support you; He will never allow the righteous to be shaken.

In Hebrew, support can also mean, “nourished or fed.”  He will feed you with His Word; He will nourish you with His Spirit.  He will hold you so that you will not fall in decay (Hebrew for shaken).

CONCLUSION

As I close, let me read from the March 9th reading of “Streams in the desert.”

“The Saint’s burdens are God given; they lead Him to wait upon Jehovah, and when that is done, in the magic of trust, the burden is metamorphosed into a pair of wings and the weighted one ‘mounts up with wings as eagles.’”

