On Wednesday June 29th, 2011 I had my left kidney removed.   The surgery went real well, and I was up and walking at mid-night that night (wanted to get an early start).

I was expecting a tremendous amount of pain, but so far the pain from the surgery itself hasn’t been near as bad as I thought it would have been.  I haven’t been living on the pain medication really.  I basically take it because I’m told too in order to keep ahead, not that I feel I really need too.

My colon is slow starting and that was the most painful thing for me.  Thursday night (all night) was very, very painful for me, almost could not take it.  They asked me if I wanted some morphine, but I told them ‘no’ because I don’t like the way morphine makes me feel.  But thankfully, my colon kicked in on Friday morning and it’s much better now.

Was released on Saturday morning.

Not much to tell really at this point, but something that Paul said in Philippians has really spoke to me through this process and I know it to be true.

Philippians 4:12-13 (ESV) – 12I know how to be brought low, and I know how to abound. In any and every circumstance, I have learned the secret of facing plenty and hunger, abundance and need. 13I can do all things through him who strengthens me.

It is God’s strength that is sustaining me through this dark time.  When times are at the most painful, it is his strength that helps me to stand and face it.  When times of peace arise, it is because of his strength in me.

